أسئلة وأجوبة

التسجيل

نحن نشجعك على مراجعة دليل البداية يحتوي على ثروة من المعلومات حول البرنامج للتأكد من أن هذا هو الخيار الصحيح لك ولعائلتك. نود أيضًا أن نتحدث معك عن احتياجاتك قبل إكمال الطلب.

عندما تكون جاهزًا لإنشاء حساب فرعي ثقة ، يمكنك تنزيل النماذج اللازمة. ابدأ بامتداد المرجعية التطبيق للتأكد من أنك تقوم بجمع جميع الوثائق اللازمة قبل إرسال الحزمة الخاصة بك أو الاتصال بمكتبنا لتحديد موعد. لمزيد من المعلومات التفصيلية ، يرجى زيارة كيفية التسجيل صفحة.

لا يوجد مبلغ محدد مناسب للجميع. ستحتاج إلى تحديد ما هو مناسب لعائلتك بناءً على احتياجات طفلك الحالية والمتوقعة. أمثلة على هدف الإنفاق السنوي ما قد يقدمه الصندوق على أساس سنوي بناءً على مستويات التمويل المختلفة قد يساعدك على اتخاذ قرار أكثر استنارة. يتم توفير هذه الأمثلة لأغراض التوضيح فقط.

للاسف لا. لا يقبل صندوق Oregon Special Needs Trust سوى الأصول النقدية في مجمع الأصول.

نعم. في حساب طرف ثالث ، قد يقوم العديد من المانحين بإيداع الأموال في الحساب ، ولكن المانح الذي يوقع على اتفاقية الضم فقط هو الذي يتحكم في باقي المستفيدين (حيث تذهب الأموال بعد وفاة المستفيد من الصندوق الاستئماني).

بينما يمكن لأي شخص إيداع الأموال في حساب طرف أول مؤسس ، فإن هذه الأموال ستختلط مع أموال المستفيد ، وبالتالي لن تكون محمية من متطلبات استرداد Medicaid.

للحصول على رسوم التجديد السنوية السارية وقت التسجيل ، يجب عليك دفع رسوم التجديد كل عام. إذا تركت التسجيل ينقضي ، فسيتم إغلاق الحساب غير الممول. إذا اخترت التسجيل مرة أخرى في المستقبل ، فسيتم تحصيل رسوم التسجيل والتجديد السنوية السارية وقت إعادة التسجيل. الرسوم غير قابلة للاسترداد في حالة انقضاء فترة التسجيل.

لا. إذا لم يتم تمويل الحساب بعد ، فأنت لست ملزمًا بتمويله في المستقبل أو الحفاظ على تسجيلك.

نعم. نظرًا لقواعد استرداد Medicaid ، لا يمكن إيداع أموال المانحين وأموال المستفيدين في نفس الحساب الفرعي.

إذا نشأ موقف حيث يكون لدى المستفيد أمواله الخاصة لإيداعها ، ولكن لديه فقط حساب ممول من المانحين ، يمكننا مساعدة المستفيد في التسجيل في حساب فرعي منفصل. وبالمثل ، فإن المانحين الراغبين في إيداع الأموال لصالح المستفيد الذي لديه حساب ممول من المستفيد فقط سيحتاجون إلى إنشاء حساب منفصل يموله المانحون. إذا كان لدى المستفيد كلا النوعين من الحسابات ، فسنصدر في معظم الحالات مدفوعات من الحساب الممول من المستفيد أولاً ولن نصل إلى أموال المانحين حتى نفاد الحساب الممول من المستفيد.

تمثيل المحامي

يمكن. اتفاقية الضم هي وثيقة قانونية ويجب عليك استشارة محام قبل أن تقرر ما إذا كان OSNT هو الخيار الأفضل لك. إذا كنت تساعد شخصًا معاقًا غير مؤهل ، فستحتاج إلى الاستعانة بمحام لتقديم التماس إلى المحكمة للحصول على إذن لإنشاء وتمويل حساب فرعي للفرد ذي الإعاقة.

هذا يعتمد على المحامي. سوف تحتاج إلى الاتصال بمحام للاستشارة وتقدير التكلفة. 

على الرغم من أننا لا نوصي أو نؤيد أي محامي معين ، إلا أننا لدينا قائمة محامين تتضمن محامين على دراية بالثقة المجمعة وذوي الخبرة في مجالات قانون كبار السن ، أو التخطيط لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة ، أو إدارة الثقة ، أو التخطيط العقاري. هذه القائمة ليست حصرية ويسعدنا العمل مباشرة مع أي محام تختاره من أجل إنشاء حساب.

المدفوعات والودائع

لإيداع الأموال في حسابك ، أرسل شيكًا يدفع إلى "صندوق أوريغون لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة FBO (اسم المستفيد)"، ل

The Arc أوريغون / OSNT
2405 فرونت ستريت NE #120
سالم 97301

بمجرد إنشاء الحساب ، ستتلقى دفتر ملاحظات ترحيبيًا شاملاً مع إرشادات محددة حول كيفية استخدام حسابك ، إلى جانب النماذج اللازمة. لدينا عملية بسيطة يقوم من خلالها المستفيد أو الشخص المرخص له بتقديم طلب دفع خطي أو عبر الإنترنت إلى جانب الوثائق الداعمة. ثم يقوم مدير برنامج OSNT بمراجعة الطلب. بمجرد الموافقة عليه ، يتم إصدار شيك من قبل Key Bank وإرساله بالبريد كما هو مطلوب في نموذج طلب الصرف.

يمكنك أيضًا زيارة كيف تعمل صفحة لمزيد من المعلومات.

قائمة السلع والخدمات التي يمكن شراؤها مع ثقة ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة واسعة للغاية. سيكون من المستحيل إدراجهم جميعًا هنا. فيما يلي العناصر التي يتم طلبها وتغطيتها بشكل شائع. يرجى أن تضع في اعتبارك أن هذه القائمة ليست سوى دليل ولا ينبغي اعتبارها استحقاقًا لهذه العناصر.

بضائع

ملابس
أجهزة الكمبيوتر / البرمجيات
إلكترونيات (تلفزيون ، ستريو ، إلخ)
النظارات / جهات الاتصال
أثاث
الغازولين
لوازم الهوايات
الأجهزة المنزلية
المنتجات / اللوازم المنزلية
فراش / بوكس سبرينغز
اللوازم / المعدات الطبية
الات موسيقية
عناصر العناية الشخصية
مستلزمات الحيوانات الأليفة
مصاريف الجنازة مدفوعة الأجر
اللعب / الألعاب
الاجازات
مركبات

خدمات

رسوم الألعاب الرياضية أو الاستجمام
رعاية المصاحبة
إصلاح / صيانة السيارات
الكيبل التلفزيوني
خدمات الهاتف الخليوي
العناية بالعيون والأسنان
العناية بالشعر والأظافر
تعديلات المنزل / التحسينات
تأمين - سيارات / مستأجرين
إنترنت
النفقات الطبية
دروس الموسيقى
رعاية الحيوانات الأليفة / فواتير الأطباء البيطريين
أتعاب مهنية - محامي ، محاسب
الرسوم الدراسية
تذاكر الأفلام والحفلات الموسيقية والأحداث وما إلى ذلك.
وسائل النقل
تعديلات السيارة من أجل سهولة الوصول

قد لا يتم دفع أي شيء قد تغطيه المزايا الحكومية المؤهلة ، بما في ذلك الطعام والمأوى والخدمات الطبية ، بدولارات الصندوق الاستئماني. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تمنع سياسة The Arc Oregon استخدام حسابات الصناديق الاستئمانية لشراء الكحول أو التبغ أو الأسلحة النارية. لا يُسمح بالصرف النقدي أو السداد للمستفيد ، ولا شراء الهدايا لأشخاص آخرين. يجب تحديد جميع المدفوعات على أنها من أجل المنفعة الوحيدة للمستفيد. 

لا تسمح قواعد مباحث أمن الدولة بمدفوعات الثقة للعناصر التالية التي تعرفها على أنها "مأوى":

  • القرض العقاري
  • تأجير
  • التأمين على الممتلكات ، إذا كان مطلوبًا من قبل البنك أو صاحب الرهن العقاري الآخر
  • فواتير الغاز
  • أجراس كهربائية
  • وقود التدفئة
  • ماء
  • الصرف الصحي
  • خدمات جمع القمامة
  • الضرائب العقارية
  • رسوم جمعية صاحب المنزل

نعم. على أولياء أمور الأطفال القصر واجب قانوني في توفير الدعم الأساسي لأطفالهم ، بما في ذلك الطعام والملبس والمأوى ونفقات التعليم الأساسية. ينتهي هذا الواجب في سن 18 عامًا. استخدام الصندوق الاستئماني للطفل لدفع ما يلزم الوالدين قانونًا توفيره لن يكون في مصلحة الطفل الفضلى.

يجب أن يتم تخصيص المدفوعات من ثقة الطفل للنفقات غير العادية ، مثل النفقات الفريدة للوالدين الذين يكون أطفالهم القصر معاقين ، أو النفقات الطبية الكبيرة جدًا التي لا يغطيها التأمين أو Medicaid والتي لا يتحملها الوالدان بسهولة.

كل حالة مختلفة إلى حد ما. ومع ذلك ، كقاعدة عامة ، إذا كان الدفع المطلوب لشيء تتوقع قوانيننا وأعرافنا الثقافية عمومًا أن يقدمه آباء القاصر لأطفالهم ، فسيتردد OSNT في استخدام الأموال من الحساب الفرعي للطفل لمثل هذه الطلبات .

نعم. نحن نشجع مدخلات الأشخاص الرئيسيين المشاركين في حياة المستفيد. على الرغم من أن أفراد الأسرة ليس لديهم دور قانوني رسمي في إدارة الصندوق ، فإن موظفي OSNT سيأخذون دائمًا في الاعتبار الآراء والرؤى والتوجيهات التي يقدمها الأشخاص الرئيسيون عند اتخاذ القرارات نيابة عن المستفيد.

قد لا يتم تعويض المستفيدين من الثقة من الصندوق مقابل المشتريات التي تم إجراؤها بالفعل. تعتبر أي مدفوعات يتم سدادها من حساب الأمانة إلى المستفيد دخلاً لأغراض تحديد الأهلية للحصول على منافع تم اختبارها. تمنع سياسات OSNT أي مدفوعات من شأنها التأثير سلبًا على المنافع العامة ، لذلك لا يُسمح بسداد المستفيدين.

يجوز لأحد أفراد الأسرة أو مقدم الدعم شراء شيء ما للمستفيد ثم طلب السداد ، ولكن لا يتم ضمان الموافقة على الطلب. تتم الموافقة على المبالغ المستردة على أساس كل حالة على حدة ويجب أن تتم الموافقة عليها مسبقًا من قبل مدير البرنامج. لا ينبغي لأي شخص أن يقوم بعملية شراء للمستفيد ويتوقع الحصول على تعويض دون مناقشته مع مدير البرنامج قبل إجراء الشراء. لن يتم السداد عن أي مشتريات تم إجراؤها قبل إنشاء حساب الثقة ، أو لأي مشتريات تمت قبل أكثر من 90 يومًا من تاريخ طلب السداد.

تتطلب القواعد واللوائح التي تسمح بإعفاء الصناديق الاستئمانية كأصل لمزايا تم اختبارها على وجه التحديد أن الصندوق الاستئماني غير قابل للإلغاء ، وأن الأموال لا تخضع لسيطرة المستفيد. بعد إنشاء حساب ائتماني فرعي مجمع ، فإن التحكم في الأموال ، بما في ذلك حرية التصرف الكاملة بشأن كيفية إنفاقها ، يعود إلى الصندوق الاستئماني.

تمنع قوانين الولاية والقوانين الفيدرالية التي تحكم الصناديق الاستئمانية المجمعة OSNT من الموافقة على أي مدفوعات بعد وفاة المستفيد من الثقة. ومع ذلك ، يمكن للمستفيد من الثقة استخدام حساب OSNT الخاص به الدفع المسبق لأي وجميع مصاريف الجنازة خلال حياته أو حياتها. نحن نشجع بشدة جميع المستفيدين من الثقة على الدفع المسبق لجميع التكاليف المرتبطة بجنازاتهم ، ومؤامرة الدفن ، وشواهد القبور ، وغيرها من النفقات ذات الصلة قبل وفاتهم. بشكل عام ، لن يؤثر استخدام صندوق جنازة غير قابل للإلغاء لأغراض الدفع المسبق لتكاليف الجنازة على مزايا Medicaid أو SSI.

في حساب ممول من المانحين ، قد نتمكن من دفع النفقات النهائية إذا وافق جميع المستفيدين المتبقين المدرجين في القائمة كتابيًا وفهموا أن مدفوعاتهم للأموال المتبقية سيتم تخفيضها وفقًا لذلك.

هذا يعتمد. هناك ظروف معينة يمكنك بموجبها تحويل الأموال إلى حساب ABLE الحالي. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كنت ترغب في استخدام الأموال لدفع تكاليف السكن أو الاحتياجات الأساسية الأخرى التي لا يُسمح بصرفها من الصندوق الاستئماني المجمع.

عرض ورقة المعلومات الخاصة بنا: OSNT & ABLE - نعمل معًا من أجلك!

إذا لم تكن راضيًا عن القرار ، فيمكنك تقديم طلب كتابي للاستئناف. إذا كنت بحاجة إلى مساعدة في إعداد استئناف ، يسعدنا مساعدتك. تتم مراجعة الاستئناف الأول من قبل المدير التنفيذي لـ The Arc Oregon. إذا لزم الأمر ، هناك مستويان إضافيان من الاستئناف متاحان من خلال لجنة الثقة ومجلس الإدارة.

إغلاق الحساب

لا ، بموجب القانون ، الحساب الفرعي مع صندوق أوريغون لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة غير قابل للإلغاء. هذا يعني أنه بمجرد إنشاء الحساب وتمويله ، لا يجوز سحب الأموال أو تحويلها ، ولا يمكن للمستفيد أو المانح إغلاق الحساب. هذا اعتبار مهم عند تحديد ما إذا كان صندوق ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة خيارًا مناسبًا أم لا. إذا تمت الموافقة على حساب ولكن لم يتم إيداع أموال ، فيمكن إغلاق الحساب ببساطة عن طريق عدم إيداع أي أموال وإخطارنا بأنه لن يتم إيداع أي أموال في المستقبل. 

إذا كانت الثقة المجمعة المماثلة تعمل في الدولة التي تنتقل إليها ، وإذا كانت تلك الثقة على استعداد لقبول المسؤولية ، فيمكن إجراء تحويل من ثقتنا إلى الثقة الجديدة. إذا لم يكن الصندوق الاستئماني الجديد على استعداد لقبول التنازل ، أو إذا لم تكن هناك ثقة مماثلة ، فسنحتفظ بمسؤولية إدارة حساب الثقة الخاص بك.

نهدف إلى إنفاق المبلغ بالكامل لصالح طفلك خلال حياته الاكتوارية. إذا كان هو أو هي يعيش على متوسط العمر المتوقع الاكتواري ، فيجب استنفاد الثقة تمامًا. إذا بقي أي أموال ، فأنت ، بصفتك المتبرع ، تحدد كيفية توزيع هذه الأموال في اتفاقية الضم.

لا يوجد احتفاظ إلزامي لحسابات الطرف الثالث. قد تختار طواعية ترك بعض أو كل الأموال المتبقية لـ The Arc Oregon.

 

بموجب القانون ، سيتم الاحتفاظ بأي أموال متبقية في حساب يموله المستفيد من خلال الصندوق الاستئماني المجمع و / أو استخدامها لتلبية أي طلبات سداد لبرنامج Medicaid. لدى OSNT اتفاق مع ولاية أوريغون للاحتفاظ بـ 50% من رصيد الصندوق المتبقي. سيتم استخدام 50% الأخرى لتلبية أي مطالبة معلقة مقدمة من Medicaid. إذا كان هناك أي أموال متبقية بعد استيفاء قواعد استرداد Medicaid ، فقد يتم توزيع هذه الأموال على المستفيدين المتبقين كما هو مذكور في اتفاقية الضم.

متفرقات

ستتلقى كل عام مستند ضريبي 1041 يجب عليك تقديمه إلى CPA الخاص بك. إذا كنت لا تقدم عادةً ضرائب الدخل ، فليس من المحتمل أن تحتاج إلى تقديم ضرائب كنتيجة لأرباح الثقة ، لكننا نوصيك باستشارة CPA أو مُعد ضرائب محترف للتأكد. إذا كنت مدينًا بضرائب الدخل ، فيمكن دفعها من حسابك الفرعي.

لا. يمكننا فقط إدارة حسابات الثقة الفرعية المجمعة داخل OSNT.

arالعربية

FAQs

Enrollment

We encourage you to review the Getting Started Guide that has a wealth of information about the program to make sure that this is the right option for you and your family. We would also like to talk to you about your needs before you complete the application.

When you are ready to establish a trust sub-account, you may download the necessary forms. Start with the Application Checklist to make sure that you are gathering all of the necessary documentation before sending in your packet or contacting our office for an appointment. For more detailed information, please visit the How To Enroll page.

There is no specific amount that is right for everyone. You will need to determine what is right for your family based on your child’s current and expected needs. Annual Spending Target Examples of what the trust might provide on an annual basis based on various funding levels may help you make a more informed decision. These examples are provided for illustration purposes only.

Unfortunately, no. The Oregon Special Needs Trust only accepts cash assets into the asset pool.

Yes. In a third-party account, multiple donors may deposit funds into the account, but only the donor who signs the Joinder Agreement has control over remainder beneficiaries (where the money goes after the death of the trust beneficiary).

While anyone can deposit money into an established first-party account, those funds would be co-mingled with the beneficiary’s funds and, therefore, not protected from Medicaid payback requirements.

To get locked in for the annual renewal fee that is in place at the time your enrollment, you must pay the renewal fee each year. If you let the enrollment lapse, the unfunded account will be closed. If you choose to enroll again in the future, you will be charged the enrollment and annual renewal fees effective at the time of your re-enrollment. Fees are not refundable if an enrollment lapses.

No. If an account is not yet funded, you are not obligated to fund it in the future or to maintain your enrollment.

Yes. Due to Medicaid payback rules, donor funds and beneficiary funds cannot be deposited into the same sub-account.

If the situation arises wherein the beneficiary has his or her own money to deposit, but only has a donor-funded account in place, we can assist the beneficiary in enrolling in a separate sub-account. Likewise, donors wanting to deposit funds for the benefit of a beneficiary who only has a beneficiary-funded account will need to establish a separate donor-funded account. If a beneficiary has both types of accounts, in most cases we will issue disbursements from the beneficiary-funded account first and will not access the donor funds until the beneficiary-funded account is depleted.

Attorney Representation

Maybe. The Joinder Agreement is a legal document and you should consult an attorney before deciding if the OSNT is the best option for you. If you are helping a person with a disability who is not competent, then you will need to retain an attorney to petition the court for permission to establish and fund a sub-account for the individual with a disability.

It depends on the attorney. You will need to contact an attorney for a consultation and cost estimate. 

Although we do not recommend or endorse any particular attorney, we do have an Attorney List that includes attorneys that are familiar with the pooled trust and who are experienced in the fields of Elder Law, Special Needs Planning, Trust Administration or Estate Planning. This list is not exclusive and we are happy to work directly with whichever attorney you choose in order to establish an account.

Disbursements & Deposits

To deposit funds into your account send a check, payable to “Oregon Special Needs Trust FBO (Beneficiary’s Name)”, to

The Arc Oregon / OSNT
2405 Front Street NE #120
Salem OR 97301

Once an account is established, you will receive a comprehensive Welcome Notebook with specific instructions about how to use your account, along with the necessary forms. We have a simple process in which a beneficiary or authorized person submits a written or online disbursement request along with supporting documentation. The OSNT Program Manager then reviews the request. Once it is approved, a check is issued by Key Bank and mailed as requested on the disbursement request form.

You may also visit the How It Works page for more information.

The list of goods and services that can be purchased with a special needs trust is quite extensive. It would be impossible to list them all here. Below are items that are commonly requested and covered. Please keep in mind that this list is only a guide and should not be viewed as an entitlement to these items.

GOODS

Clothing
Computers/Software
Electronics (television, stereo, etc)
Eyeglasses/Contacts
Furniture
Gasoline
Hobby Supplies
Household Appliances
Household Products/Supplies
Mattress/Box Springs
Medical Supplies/Equipment
Musical Instruments
Personal Care Items
Pet Supplies
Prepaid Funeral Expenses
Toys/Games
Vacations
Vehicles

SERVICES

Athletic or Recreation Fees
Attendant Care
Auto Repair/Maintenance
Cable TV
Cell Phone Services
Eye and Dental Care
Hair and Nail Care
Home Modifications/Improvements
Insurance – Auto/Renters
Internet
Medical Expenses
Music Lessons
Pet Care/Veterinarian Bills
Professional Fees – Attorney, Accountant
School Tuition
Tickets to Movies, Concerts, Events, etc.
Transportation
Vehicle Modifications for Accessibility

Anything that eligible governmental benefits may cover, including food, shelter and medical services, may not be paid for with trust fund dollars. Additionally, The Arc Oregon’s policy prevents use of trust fund accounts for the purchase of alcohol, tobacco or firearms. Cash disbursements or reimbursements to the beneficiary are not allowed, nor are purchases of gifts for other people. All disbursements must be determined to be for the sole benefit of the beneficiary. 

SSI rules do not allow trust payments for the following items it defines as “shelter”:

  • Mortgage
  • Rent
  • Property insurance, if required by a bank or other mortgage holder
  • Gas bills
  • Electric bills
  • Heating fuel
  • Water
  • Sewer
  • Garbage collection services
  • Property taxes
  • Homeowner’s association fees

Yes. Parents of minor children have a legal duty to provide basic support for their children, including food, clothing, shelter and basic educational expenses. This duty ceases at age 18. Using the child’s trust fund to pay for what parents are legally obligated to provide would not be in the child’s best interest.

Disbursements from a child’s trust should be reserved for extraordinary expenses, such as expenses unique to parents whose minor children are disabled, or very large medical expenses not covered by insurance or Medicaid and not easily afforded by the parents.

Every situation is somewhat different. However, as a general rule, if the requested disbursement is for something that our laws and cultural norms generally expect parents of a minor to provide for their children, then the OSNT will be reluctant to use funds from the child’s sub-account for such requests.

Yes. We encourage the input of key persons involved in the beneficiary’s life. Although family members do not have an official legal role in the administration of the trust, the OSNT staff will always consider the opinions, insights and directions given by key persons when making decisions on behalf of the beneficiary.

Trust beneficiaries may NOT get reimbursed from the trust for purchases already made. Any payments made from the trust account to the beneficiary are considered income for purposes of determining eligibility for means-tested benefits. OSNT policies prevent any payments that would adversely affect public benefits, so reimbursements to beneficiaries are not allowed.

A family member or support provider may purchase something for the beneficiary and then request reimbursement, but are not guaranteed the request will be approved. Reimbursements are approved on a case by case basis and must be pre-approved by the Program Director. No person should ever make a purchase for the beneficiary and expect to get reimbursed without discussing it with the Program Manager BEFORE the purchase is made. Reimbursements will not be made for any purchases made prior to the trust account being established, or for any purchases made more than 90 days prior to the reimbursement request date.

The rules and regulations that allow trust funds to be exempt as an asset for means-tested benefits specifically require that the trust is irrevocable, and that the funds are not controlled by the beneficiary. After establishing a pooled trust sub-account, control of the money, including full discretion over how it is spent, belongs to the Trust.

The State and Federal laws governing pooled trusts prevent the OSNT from approving any disbursements after the trust beneficiary dies. However, a trust beneficiary can use his or her OSNT account to pre-pay for any and all funeral expenses during his or her lifetime. We strongly encourage all trust beneficiaries to pre-pay all costs associated with their funeral, burial plot, headstone and other related expenses before their death. In general, the use of an irrevocable funeral trust for the purposes of pre-paying funeral costs will not affect Medicaid or SSI benefits.

In a donor-funded account, we may be able to pay for final expenses if all listed remainder beneficiaries agree in writing and understand that their payment of remainder funds will be reduced accordingly.

It depends. There are certain circumstances under which you may transfer funds into an existing ABLE account. For instance, if you would like to use funds to pay for housing or other basic needs that are not allowable disbursements from the pooled trust.

View our information Sheet: OSNT & ABLE – Working Together for You!

If you are unhappy with a decision, you may submit a written request for an appeal. If you need assistance in preparing an appeal, we are happy to help you. The first appeal is reviewed by the Executive Director of The Arc Oregon. If needed, there are two additional levels of appeal that are available through the Trust Committee and Board of Directors.

Closing an Account

No. By law, a sub-account with the Oregon Special Needs Trust is irrevocable. That means that once the account is established and funded, the funds may not be withdrawn or transferred, and the account cannot be closed by the beneficiary or donor. This is an important consideration when deciding whether or not a Special Needs Trust is an appropriate option. If an account is approved but no funds have been deposited, then the account can be closed simply by not depositing any funds and notifying us that no funds will be deposited in the future. 

If a similar pooled trust is operating in the state to which you move, and if that trust is willing to accept responsibility, a transfer can be made from our trust to the new trust. If the new trust is not willing to accept assignment, or if there is no similar trust, we will retain responsibility for administering your trust account.

Our intent is to spend the entire amount for your child’s benefit during his or her actuarial lifetime. If he or she lives to actuarial life expectancy, the trust should be completely depleted. Should any money remain, you, as the Donor, designate how this money is distributed in the Joinder Agreement.

There is no mandatory retention for third-party accounts. You may voluntarily elect to leave some or all of the remaining funds to the The Arc Oregon.

 

By law, any remaining funds in a beneficiary-funded account will be retained by the pooled trust and/or used to satisfy any Medicaid reimbursement requests. The OSNT has an agreement in place with the State of Oregon to retain 50% of the remaining fund balance. The other 50% will be used to satisfy any outstanding claim presented by Medicaid. If there are any funds remaining after satisfying the Medicaid payback rules, then those funds may be distributed to the remainder beneficiaries as noted on the Joinder Agreement.

Miscellaneous

Each year you will receive a 1041 tax document that you should provide to your CPA. If you do not normally file income taxes then it is not likely you will need to file taxes as a result of trust earnings, but we do recommend that you consult with a CPA or professional tax preparer to be sure. If you do owe income taxes, they can be paid from your sub-account.

No. We can only administer pooled trust sub-accounts within the OSNT.

en_USEnglish